On a bluff overlooking the Brazos River, this Texas Historical Commission site marks the first Anglo-American settlement in Mexican Texas (1824). The site features a statue of Stephen F. Austin; a replica of Austin's dog-run log cabin; and the 1847 J.J. Josey Store, which offers exhibits and a visitor center.
Grounds open during daylight hours. Visitor center open 9 a.m.-5 p.m. Tue.-Sun.
15945 F.M. 1458.
Past Park Road 38 and south of the Brazos River.