This Jones County seat was founded in 1881 and named for Dr. Anson Jones, last president of the Republic of Texas. This is one of richest farming areas in Texas. Cattle, oil, gas and gypsum products add to the economy.

Each December since 1885, The Cowboys' Christmas Ball is held in Pioneer Hall. The event was popularized by Michael Martin Murphey's musical rendition of the "The Cowboys' Christmas Ball." The "Cowboy Dance" mural by Jenne Magafan is one of the best preserved post office murals authorized by the Treasury Department during Franklin Roosevelt's administration.


Explore these #TexasToDo posts from locals and visitors to get inspired for your next trip to Texas. Once you've visited, upload suggestions of your own.