Although a village was originally established here under the name Morgan in 1872, the area was known as "old Franklin" since Republic of Texas days, and that's the name that stuck. It is now the seat of Robertson County, named after Sterling C. Robertson, founder of Robertson's Colony. Mineral springs made it a popular health resort in the late 1800s. The Robertson County Courthouse was built in 1881 and renovated in 1924, when the original roofs were replaced to suggest a Spanish Renaissance character. It was entered in the National Register of Historic Places in 1977.

The New Baden Jamboree is held on the first Saturday each month at New Baden Community Center. 979/828-2231.


Explore these #TexasToDo posts from locals and visitors to get inspired for your next trip to Texas. Once you've visited, upload suggestions of your own.