By the Rio Grande, this village was established in 1881 when the Galveston, Harrisburg and San Antonio Railway was built through. It was the junction of construction from east and west. Two origins of town's name exist: one prosaic; the other romantic. One credits the town name to a civil engineer named Langtry who directed a group of Chinese laborers in railroad construction. But colorful Judge Roy Bean insisted he named town after his idol, English actress Lillie Langtry, the "Jersey Lilly.
Primitive camping is available along the Devils River at Baker's Crossing. HC 69, Box 200, Comstock, 78837. 432/292-4503.