This town was established in 1882 at the junction of the St. Louis Narrow Gauge and Santa Fe Railroads west of Waco. It originally was named McGregor Springs in honor of Dr. G.C. McGregor. Historic downtown district dates from 1900. Amtrak's Texas Eagle from Chicago to Los Angeles stops here. Events include Summer Blast in May and the Founders Day Festival in September.