Established in 1902, it grew from a stop on the Choctaw, Oklahoma and Texas Railroad. It was once known as the "uplift city" because of a ladies undergarment factory. It also was the former site of World War II German prisoner-of-war camp. Now the town is a center for surrounding farms and ranches. Murals along Main Street (old U.S. 66) depict the history of city and area.
A restored 1930s Phillips 66 station lies on the old westbound U.S. 66 and is considered one of best re-created sites by the Old Route 66 Association. The Commercial District is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. The District is along North Main, First and Railroad streets, roughly bounded by Railroad, Lowe, Second and Gray streets.